There is never a good time for a car accident, but the situation can feel worse when the other driver is uninsured or underinsured or the insurance company denies your claim. Now you’ll be left with the added stress of your medical bills and property damage.
In Florida, the law requires that every driver have minimum mandatory car insurance. That entails a minimum of $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) and a minimum of $10,000 for property damage liability coverage (PDL).
Serious consequences await those who do not have this minimum amount of insurance coverage. They may have their license suspended and their license plate confiscated. They may even face serious criminal charges for failing to obey this law. It is estimated that nearly 32 million drivers are driving on U.S. roads without insurance, indicating many are taking unnecessary risks.
Additionally, Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that anyone involved in a car accident must file a claim with their own insurance company. But what if your insurance company denies your claim?
Reasons Your Insurance Company May Deny Your Claim
Insurance companies can be difficult when it comes to claims, as they want to protect their own assets. They may deny your claim because of a lack of coverage, so it’s important to double-check your contract and coverage amounts. They may also try to get you on a claim error, such as not notifying them quickly enough following the accident.
In short, an insurance company may put forth a variety of reasons to deny your claim. Some of these may be legitimate while others will not. A lawyer experienced in insurance claims can help determine if your insurance company is not acting in good faith during the claim process.
Can I Sue the Insurance Company for Denying My Claim?
You can sue your insurance company if they are not abiding by the terms of your policy. If they have provided an inadequate or delayed investigation into your claim, refuse to pay on a claim where the liability is clear, fail to approve or deny your claim within a reasonable timeframe, or issue a denial on your claim with little to no explanation as to why then you may be able to file a lawsuit.
If you feel that your claim was improperly denied and you can’t get a resolution, Fasig Brooks, Fort Walton Beach personal injury lawyers say it is best to get a consultation with an attorney. If the matter ends up in court, a judge may insist that the insurance company uphold its end of the policy. A judge can also order a defendant to make payments. The defendant may have assets like properties or investments that can be liquidated to pay for your damages.
Additionally, if another party is involved, they too could be held liable for your injuries. For example, if the at-fault driver was operating a company vehicle, their employer could be held liable for not having proper insurance. Speaking with a lawyer about your accident can help you to determine how you can obtain the compensation you deserve.